Fandom

[BOOK REVIEW] Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer Armentrout

2 copy

Genre: Young Adult,  Fantasy, Romance

Synopsis:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

e

I’ve actually been quite curious about this book since high school. But I had difficulties on downloading a decent copy back then. It has been recommended by my friend, Regine. Hi, Reg! And then, recently, I’ve been motivated to read it as I’ve encountered it to Don’s awesome book review of it @ Bookitwithdon.

Http%3a%2f%2fmashable.com%2fwp-content%2fgallery%2fbook-lovers%2fbookstore-belleSo, right on to the novel!

The first book – definitely a cliff hanger. But that’s a good thing. I was left wanting for more Kat and Daemon scenes.

Indeed, it was a quick read because once I started reading it, I can’t let myself to put it down! Seriously, I am definitely hooked by this book!

First off, I love the concept of the Luxen-Arum thing. Light vs. Darkness… it was pretty cool. With the Science stuff, true form and all.

It’s true though that it’s hard to think of aliens as good-looking beings, and I’d much believe that they would look like a giant insect that eats humans, with a large doe eyes stuff.

And… from the moment that she knocked on that door, I knew something awesome is about to bloom.

uhm… do I have to explain?…

 

image

 

It was pretty obvious that it was a Katy-Daemon love story, right? But deym girl, Daemon is just so damn hot. Yes, scorching hot. I TOTALLY felt Katy right in the feels, the moment he opened the damn door. Though I imagine Daemon young, he’s like a bit more mature looking. Daemon… he’s something. He has this power to make you read the book for the whole night. He’s unstoppable, really. (I’m so happy I found him! ASDFGNFMVXDL@#!$ *wide grin*)

Oh!! And whenever he calls her Kitten, I die a little everytime!!! *fgyt%tyy$kkjjjjjjeafdb DIES*

Katy, she loves to read books and her blog is her world. Kat’s personality fits for a typical heroine for a YA novel –sassy, brave…careless. Well, for the love of books part, I must say we kind of relate to that, eh? Plus she’s  seventeen… I’m seventeen… I like her cause she can handle Daemon being jerky and all with her sarcasm and witty remarks. I also liked that she’s not the type of the damsel-in-distress who would do nothing but watch at her knight fighting for her. I’m glad that she would move and act when she knows she can do something about it. Kind of like Snowbird, as what Daemon said.

After Daemon left Katy after they made out (to lessen her glow), I became quite alert whenever they are together and about to make out or something again, cause I’m afraid that after that, Daemon would be back to his old jerk Daemon self. At first I was really kind of pissed off at Daemon being a jerk to Katy, wondering why he is overly protective of her sister, but as the story went by, I understood why. But after Katy knew the reason, I still can’t get him being a half-jerk, or maybe that’s just his personality. But meh, he’s Daemon, so whatever!!!

Katy and Daemon! ❤

I honestly loved Katy for standing up for her friendship with Dee, who is awfully kind and basically looks like a goddess in my imagination.

and when school started, the story got even better because more characters have been introduced. I thought that Katy would be like a geek-loner person but I’m glad she made some friends who added sparks in the Katy-Daemon love team whenever they tease her, and she denies. (Plus, I really love those scenes whenever Daemon pokes her with his pen, and she’d be like whaaaat.)

Silently-Fangirling

Yes, it is a typical YA sci-fi love story. Forbidden love between an unknown being and a human being. For me, it’s got everything it’s got to have. A sassy heroine, a gorgeous hero/alien with some weirdness connected in his life, cool plot, funny friends, drama, action, romance, and of course, comedy.

A good YA, for me, has got to be a roller-coaster ride of emotions, and it’s done that for me. I’ve read reviews about this book both good and bad. But I don’t care. I enjoyed this book, and if you’re someone who’s trying to find a quick read, a not so heavy sci-fi/romance/comedy/action novel, then, this is one of the books I’d absolutely recommend you to read.

Http%3a%2f%2fmashable.com%2fwp-content%2fgallery%2fbook-lovers%2fgilmore-girls-jess

 So for this first book of the Lux Series, I’m gonna give it FIVE SHINING STARS!

Leave a Reply

